Summer Update 2

It’s been a while since my boss has been back from summer vacation and I’m glad to say that she is significantly less psycho.  So hurray! The rest of the Summer Reading Program should go swimmingly!

Last Friday we made light sabers out of pool noodles and PVC pipe and the kids loved it!–Actually, what they really loved was getting to whack me and my other coworkers after they had finished decorating their handle.  Until last Friday, I didn’t think that I could get a bruise from a kid wielding a pool noodle…but here I am with a bruise on my arm.  I now have this firm belief that if the zombie apocalypse ever does happen all we need to do is give a bunch of kids swords, power them up on pure sugar, and then unleash them onto the zombies.  I’m pretty sure even the zombies would be like “Oh SNAP!”, then turn around and run for the hills.

I’m super excited for this upcoming Friday, which is Light Saber Training Day.  I actually organized for this professional fight coordinator to come from the big(ger) city to the public library and train all of the kids!  We have this parking lot just across the street from the library that would be a perfect place to hold this event!  Right now on facebook, there’s like 52 people that have said that they are going to go, which is awesome!  There’s only one problem…

Friday, August 14

Yeah…I’m not sure how we’re going to fit 52 people with light sabers in the library that has low(ish) ceilings for the event….But nevertheless we shall try or die trying because the kids will probably all gang up on me again.  All I can do is hope that the forecast changes for Friday.  Maybe if I wish for it hard enough, it’ll be nice and sunny?

Also, our End of Summer party is in (roughly) a week and a half from now, which is pretty crazy!  The summer is just flying away now and so has all the money that we had to spend on the Summer Reading Program.  But this means that school will be starting soon…which means that I should really keep on gathering resources for my directed study….Summer isn’t even over and I want more of it now.