Summer Update

Update about the directed study I was worried about: I GOT IT!  I’ve known for a little while now, but my summer job and the directed study has been keeping me pretty busy, so I haven’t really had a whole lot of time and energy to keep up with this blog.  I honestly can’t believe that I am doing school work in the summer…you know, that special time of year where you’re supposed to be free of school and forget all that stuff you crammed into your brain learned in 8 months?

I know that I really wanted that directed study for a while and I worked my butt off to survive Demon Prof, but now that I actually have it I’m like “I got myself into WHAT?……Who, in their right mind, would actually agree to let me do this?  Do the chem profs here even know that I’m probably going to end up blowing the university up by accident??”  Seriously.  I’m the closest person I’ve seen to being a pyromaniac, so it’s bound to happen.  Then again, Demon Prof did say “A chemist is never happy unless something is on fire”, so I guess I’m in the right department.

Speaking about Demon Prof, I know I don’t have any SCHEDULED classes with her, but I feel like I’m going to be seeing her again this upcoming school year…it’s just too easy to just be completely done with her, never to have contact again.  I’m sure that I’m going to have to deal with her again.  Mark my words, she going to be like this:

To which I will go:

This summer, I’m working in a bigger library doing summer programming.  Working with all of this kids and actually doing the programs is great.  We played this one game yesterday, which I had borrowed from my university’s improv class, and basically there’s a leader who blames a random number for knowing where the Prince of Persia’s hat is, but whoever is that number has to direct the leader to someone else.  Basically, all the players are bouncing around the blame and whoever doesn’t respond fast enough has to go to the back of the line.  This is one of those games that’s significantly better when everyone is screaming.  It’s also pretty simplistic, and I thought it would only hold up for like 15 minutes…but then 15 minutes turned into 45 minutes.  There’s nothing like playing a game for 3 times longer than you had expected to let you know that you scheduled an awesome game.

Unfortunately, the first two months of the job were terrible.  That was mainly because I was the only person out of a group of three who saw the value in planning ahead so I essentially planned 6 out of 8 weeks all by myself, even though I had repeatedly asked my coworkers to PLEASE help me…and then my boss gave me hell for doing all that planning and not acting like part of a team…but said team is also forbidden from having a team leader.  However, the boss doesn’t realize that she is driving a wedge into the summer “team” by playing favourites.  Like the boss and this one girl go to yoga together (several times a week), hang out around the library after work, have matching jackets (I wish I was being sarcastic about that point, but I’m actually not), have really bad inside jokes, and the list goes on.  I tried being open and honest with my boss about some of the hurtful words she said to me in front of other coworkers and was threatened to be fired because that was apparently insubordination…which was stupid because all these bosses want honest employees but as soon as the employee is actually open and honest with them, the boss is all like “WTF is this shit?!”

Luckily, my boss went on vacation, so I don’t have to deal with her until she comes back at the end of the month!  By that time, I’ll only have to deal with her for a little over 3 weeks and then it’ll all be over.  I really enjoy interacting with all the kids at my job…my boss is just a real pain in the butt…however I’m going to try and let that not ruin the entire experience for me.