Smart Drugs

I don’t know how it took me until my 3rd year in university to find out about “Smart drugs” or memory enhancing drugs or whatever you want to call them.  Actually, the only reason I know of these things is because I know a nursing student who is like a walking encyclopedia of drugs and random information.  They sound like little miracles in pill form–especially since Finals Week is imminent.  However, just for kicks I was reading about them and some of the side affects were that they can be addictive, and since they allow you to go without sleep for a long period of time that’s probably bad for your brain in the long run.

Surprisingly, those side effects aren’t what made me stop investigating these drugs even for kicks.  I mean the whole sleep thing didn’t really bother me because I usually go like 2-3 weeks on 5 hours of sleep per night and then I have 1 day where I just crash and end up sleeping for 16 hours in total.  For the “can be addictive” I asked the nursing student who said that it’s different for everyone.  Some people do get addicted, others don’t.  What side effect bothered me the most was this potential loss for creativity and taking these without contacting a doctor can lead to serious problems depending on the medication you’re taking and your health condition.  If you want to see the article where I read this, it is right here.

While it is tempting, and I don’t take that many other drugs, but I’d rather not lose my creativity be it artistic or in problem solving.  Also I watched Limitless and I do not want people coming after me for drugs if I get some.  Obviously, there are better, less potentially dangerous ways to attempt to boost your concentration or get stuff done, such as:

  • My favorite is writing out schedules of how my day will proceed/ what I’m going to do.  The only problem that I’ve had with that is that I overestimate my ability to get stuff done and I don’t always complete my list.
  • Prioritize tasks- what is the stuff that you REALLY need to get done.  Like you might die if you don’t get them done TODAY.
  • Take time to chill –  I usually hook my chill time up to meal times so I can take 1 hr long meal breaks instead of 30 min food breaks.
  • Write down EVERYTHING.  This seriously helps me so much, because if I don’t write something down, I am doomed to forget all about it.

Just some suggestions.  Also, if you’re in uni, I’m going to assume whatever students association you have runs a sort of wellness week–TAKE FULL ADVANTAGE OF THAT.  I did and I got to pet dogs and kittens–best stress buster of all time.  I had so much trouble not just squealing in pure joy because they were all so cute.

Leave a Reply

