High Schoolers

Well!  Its around the time of year when I think High Schoolers are getting out after getting done their finals, and although I have long since finished High School (well, okay I’ve only been out of High School for two years but whatever, just…ssshhh….)  Anyways, I’m just posting this as something I wish somebody would have told me before I jumped into my getaway vehicle and floored it away from my high school.

Short Story: If you are proceeding to University and you are majoring in a field that requires formulas–KEEP YOUR FORMULA SHEET FROM HIGH SCHOOL (HS).

Long Story: Honestly, I know I wanted to burn everything as soon as I got out of HS.  Every piece of paper, every binder, every notebook, every pencil, eraser, textbooks (NO, DO NOT DO THAT) that I had obtained from my grade 12 year.  However, let me tell ya, if you have outlines or formula sheets I would keep those because the pace of Uni is a lot faster than HS and I always found that it was easier for me to re-learn stuff or to jog my memory with outlines or thing that I had written.  However, if you’re going to major in artsy stuff like English, Philosophy, Psychology, etc.  Then you have a green light to BURN EVERYTHING MWAHAHAHA.  Okay, if your English teacher gave you good tips for writing theses keep those.  Otherwise, have yourself a nice campfire.  I say this because for me, it is pretty easy to get through those classes because the one English class I did take, I BSed my way through it, and honestly, I think English classes are supposed to teach you BS skills analytical skills.  (ie/ Why did this character have blue curtains in her apartment?  

I’m all like “Because she likes the colour blue?  Because it goes with the rest of the apartment?  I don’t know you didn’t tell me if she was an interior designer at heart or not!”  

Regular people: “BECAUSE SHE IS DEPRESSED AND THE CURTAINS ARE ALWAYS COVERING THE WINDOW TO SIGNIFY THAT SHE IS SO DEPRESSED THAT SHE HAS SHUT ANY WINDOW OF OPPORTUNITY IN HER LIFE!!”)

Me: 

Honestly, I will never be able to get that much meaning out of literature.  However, if that is what you are good at, I admire your skills at being able to read something and understand all the layers that are in the literature.  Your analytical skills will definitely be tested in Uni, so it is a good skill to have.

I was going to talk about other HS to Uni transition stuff, but it is more applicable for the end of August/right before Uni starts, so I will post that at the appropriate time.  Until then, I shall be doing this:

Carry on and have a good summer!

Leave a Reply

