Group work…I swear I know what I’m doing!

"This is either madness or brilliance."  "It's remarkable how often those two traits coincide."  - the moment I realized this movie was going to be *way* better than it had any right to be...

Especially for group projects.  I feel like every time that I lead a group project, this always happens to me

"Thank goodness for that because if I wasn't this would probably never work."

I swear I know what I’m doing.  I really do.  My thinking processes just sometimes seem mumble-jumbled to other people when they don’t know what the final product will look like.

A prime example of this would be my current group project for one of my education classes.  My partner (thank goodness she’s the most patient person ever) keeps on asking me “Okay, how is this going to work?” and I’m all like “I swear I know exactly what I want to do and how I’m going to do it.  However, to fully explain it I would either have to take a really long time to tell you–OR to save on time, develop Spock’s mind melding ability.”

You see, the good thing about being a science student is that you can work alone well.  The bad thing is…you work well alone.  In labs, they make you work in partners for first year and depending on the class either all of second year or just the 1st semester in second year.  For example, in my Organic Chemistry lab, the lab prof has let us work alone, and that’s been fantastic.  I don’t have to talk to anyone unless I’m wondering where stuff is. Unfortunately, with this up coming lab because I actually have to work with someone I don’t know.  Which means I have to trust that they won’t even unintentionally fudge something up. Please, future random O Chem lab partner, be awesome!  But I gotta admit, this lab does sound cool, we get to make ASA! AKA Acetylsalicylic Acid AKA DRUGS! (I swear I’m not a drug addict…)

Leave a Reply

